Goydos Downs Sauers in Playoff to Win 3M Championship

BLAINE, Minn. – Entering the final round of the 2017 3M Championship deadlocked at 14-under par, Paul Goydos and Gene Sauers each fired a final-round 66 Sunday to remain tied after 54 holes before Goydos two-putted the first playoff hole to collect his fifth-career PGA Tour Champions victory.

Since joining the 50-and-over tour in 2014, Goydos has now earned at least one win in each of his first four seasons, with his last coming at the Charles Schwab Cup Championship last season. For his efforts this week at TPC Twin Cities, Goydos takes home a check for $262,500.

“That champagne went down nice,” Goydos said Sunday. “I’ve won five times out here and I’m surprised by all five. This was the first Champions Tour event that I ever played in 2014, so my fourth time here. This event is a community event—you see the same people all the time, which is nice, and 3M does a great job, there are big crowds out here, the golf course is in great shape—it’s a fun place to come.

“It’s a comfortable place. The first few times I played here, I played reasonably well and played pretty good last year also.”

Playing bogey-free the final 36 holes of the tournament, Goydos used just 20 putts during his second round to shoot a tournament-record 12-under par 60 Saturday.

“I can’t remember faster greens on the Champions Tour than we played this week,” Goydos said. “They rolled great, but they were quick. My speed had been good with the putter, especially on the weekend.”

The final round was stopped at 4:32 p.m. Sunday for an hour and three minutes as inclement weather moved into the area while the final group was on the 14th hole.

“I think the rain delay hurt me a little bit, I was kind of on a roll there for a while,” Sauers said after the final round Sunday. “I think it tightened me up a bit and maybe more nerves. I played good and just have to look forward to next week.”

Leave a Reply

