US Open Sights & Sounds

4-20151008_125532_HDR-1

10-time champion and No. 2 ranked Kane Waselenchuk (above) downed qualifier Andree Parrilla 11-1, 11-2, 11-5. Some random thoughts from Waselenchuk following the match…

On the remodeled Target Center Lifetime Fitness:
“Beautiful. I remember when it was one, big dust pile (last year)…The facility is unbelievable.”

His style:
“I think it is important to ‘play the role’ so to speak. I like fashion and I like looking good. On the court it’s no different.”

Wife Kim winning doubles bronze medal in Pan Am Games:
“It’s little more nerve racking (watching). (Being home with their two children), the hard part was I wasn’t able to watch her play. I watched the (on-line) scoreboard…all I saw was the points…I couldn’t see any video, nothing. That was frustrating.”

Being ranked No. 2:
“It doesn’t matter. It is what it is. It’s only temporary anyway.”
…..

Former top-10 player Chris Crowther has come out of retirement to play in the Open. He won his first round match and will face Waselenchuk tonight in the round of 16. The nearly 37-year-old (November 6) offered a unique perspective…

On preparing for US Open:
“For me, it’s a little different; I retired about a year ago. I work for one the manufacturers. I just decided to play and play doubles. I stuck my neck out there in singles and you know, I didn’t prepare like I used to. I still feel pretty good for an older guy. We’ll see what happens in the next round, I have to play Kane, the No. 1 guy. That’s going to be a challenge.”

Playing Kane:
“Go out there and have fun. No expectations, no pressure. Go out there and give my best and try to put a good show on for everybody. Whatever happens happens. I am kind of focused on my doubles. I haven’t played a singles tournament in about a year…I am just here to have fun, put on a good show and represent my company. Just enjoy it.”

1-20151008_115421_HDR

No. 2 Maria Jose Vargas (foreground) in action.

5-20151008_141119_HDR-1

No. 1 Rocky Carson (above) dispatched of qualifier Thomas Fuhrmann 11-5, 11-1, 11-3.

3-20151008_122523_HDR

No. 3 Alvaro Beltran (left) squeaked by qualifier Alejandro Cardona 11-6, 10-12, 11-6, 6-11, 11-6.

2-20151008_120432_HDR

No. 6 Ben Croft (serving) outlasted qualifier Majeed Shahin 11-9, 9-11, 9-11, 11-7, 11-0.

Leave a Reply

